In a local Presbyterian Church, both ministers and the congregation play an active role in decisions affecting the life of that particular church. The Presbyterian Church government is representative of the people, much like a democracy.  First Presbyterian Church of Rahway follows this model.

The congregation elects members to the Session (the governing board) and the Board of Deacons (the member care board) as well as some of the specific committees within the church that deal with the auditing of the church’s financial records (the Auditing Committee), the election of new leaders (the Congregational Nominating Committee),  and enlivening our congregation through educational and community events (the Nurture Committee).

Following are more details about the leadership:



The Session is the elected ruling body of the church.  There are 12 elders of Session elected for 3 year terms.  Elders are to strengthen and nurture the life of faith present in the church, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline, and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church. The Session is made up of 5 Committees which have Session members as chair and members of Session and the congregation as members.  Committee chairs are responsible for reporting to Session monthly.


The Board of Deacons

The Board of Deacons is comprised of 12 elected members, called deacons, and they are responsible for the care of the individual church members.  Each deacon has a group of members which they keep in contact with via phone calls, letters and visits.   In addition, the deacons assist with communion preparation and serving, oversee the prayer chain, arrange for flowers for special services, maintain church information materials in the sanctuary, and plan an event for 50+ year members.